SFWA Names Susan Cooper the 40th Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master

Sat, 9 Mar 2024 12:34:39 +1100

Andrew Pam <xanni [at] glasswings.com.au>

Andrew Pam

"The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers Association has announced that the
recipient of the 40th Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award is Susan Cooper,
the author of many beloved and acclaimed novels for young readers. She is best
known for the award-winning five-book sequence The Dark is Rising, which
began with 1965’s Over Sea, Under Stone and concluded in Silver on the Tree
(1977). The Grey King, the fourth book in the series, won the Newbery Medal.

Before becoming a full-time writer, Cooper was a journalist working for
London’s Sunday Times. Her work also includes two biographies, several
screenplays, many picture books, and books for young readers including The
Seaward, and Ghost Hawk. In 2002, she received the Hans Christian
Andersen Award, an international prize given to creators of children’s books.
In 2012, the American Library Association recognized her with the Margaret A.
Edwards Award for “significant and lasting contribution to young adult

She can now add to that list the SFWA Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master
Award’s recognition for “lifetime achievement in science fiction and/or
fantasy.” Previous recipients of this award include Robin McKinley, Mercedes
Lackey, Nalo Hopkinson, Peter S. Beagle, Connie Willis, Ursula K. Le Guin, Ray
Bradbury, and many more SFF luminaries."

Via Kenny Chaffin.

Share and enjoy,
               *** Xanni ***
mailto:xanni@xanadu.net               Andrew Pam
http://xanadu.com.au/                 Chief Scientist, Xanadu
https://glasswings.com.au/            Partner, Glass Wings
https://sericyb.com.au/               Manager, Serious Cybernetics

Comment via email

Home E-Mail Sponsors Index Search About Us